Post-Acute Care Working Group – Shaping the Future

Spotlight on Lutheran Services in America members and communities of practice coming together to share learnings and innovations, facilitate business opportunities, promote policies and leverage the power of the network.
Thursday, March 26, 2015

The Post-Acute Care working group was established in response to the unprecedented changes underway affecting senior services. The implementation of the Affordable Care Act, technological innovations, changing reimbursement methods, changing relationships with hospitals, new partnerships, and new emerging players in the industry are causing dramatic changes in payment models and care models for post-acute care providers. Formed earlier this year, the working group brings members providing post-acute care together to identify strategies and to collectively to respond to the emerging trends in the post-acute care market.

Funded in part by a generous grant from Lutheran Services Elderly Endowment (LSEE), and guided by the post-acute care subcommittee, LSA engaged CliftonLarsonAllen’s (CLA’s) Health Care Practice to facilitate three working sessions with LSA members to examine best practices and innovation and develop recommendations to position members to collectively respond and be more competitive in the marketplace. The first working session was held in February, and the group identified 7 high-level potential opportunities to explore further. All LSA members providing post-acute care services are now being surveyed to understand organizational capabilities and strengths related to the opportunities and gauge member interest in jointly pursuing opportunities.

Survey results will be shared at the LSA Annual Conference in San Antonio with the post-acute care working group. A third facilitated session will be held in June (TBD date), to refine recommendations for the feasibility assessment. All LSA members who provide post-acute care services are invited to join this working group. Please contact Alesia Frerichs, V.P. of Member Engagement for more information.

Members of the Post-Acute Care Steering Committee Include: Mark Stutrud (LSS of IL), Larry Bradshaw (National Lutheran Communities and Services), Luanne Fisher (Liberty Lutheran), Mark Pile (Diakon Lutheran Social Ministries), Bob Rundle (SpiriTrust Lutheran), Kent Burgess (St. John’s Lutheran Ministries), Christie Hinrichs (Tabitha Health Care), Eric Gurley (Immanuel), Ted Goins (Lutheran Services Carolinas), John Kristel (Good Shepherd Rehabilitation Network), and Vickie Thompson-Sandy and Sam Beals (LSS of MI).

Add new comment